Our Team

Meet the Lab members

A/ Professor David Francis

Head of NuSea.Lab

Professor Giovanni Turchini

Professor of Nutrition and Food Science

Dr Melissa Rocker

Research Fellow

Dr Thomas Mock

Research Fellow

Dr Ben Jones

Research Fellow

Dr Nesar Ahmed

Research Fellow

Ms Erin Cumming

Research Assistant

Dr Andrew Oxley


Professor John Donald


Mr Matthew Jago

PhD candidate

Ms Hannah Redmond

PhD candidate

Mr Kieren Searle

PhD candidate

Mr Inamul Hassan Abdul Lathiff

PhD candidate


At NuSea.Lab we believe collaboration is essential for tackling challenging scientific R&D objectives.

We have developed a substantial collaborative network, from within Deakin University to all regions of the globe. We are engaged in, and are highly supportive of, short and long term scientific visits. Amongst our recent visits, we have hosted Dr Biju Kamalam (visiting academic, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, India); Dr Clara Trullas Huguet (PhD candidate at Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain), Mr Ole Brodenick (MSc candidate at University of Copenhagen, Denmark), Dr Shiba Giri (visiting academic, Central Institute of Freshwater Aquaculture, India), Dr Zhao Hongyue (visiting academic, Henan University of Technology, China), Associate Professor Qingmei Zheng (visiting academic, Jiaying University, China); Dr Sofia Morais (visiting academic, IRTA, Spain), Prof Chris Parrish (visiting academic, Memorial University, Canada), and Prof Francisco J Moyano (visiting academic, University of Almeria, Spain).

Deakin University

Associate Professor Timothy Clark (School of Life and Environmental Sciences, Queenscliff); Dr Alecia Bellgrove (School of Life and Environmental Sciences, Warrnambool); Mr Bob Collins (Deakin Research); Prof Russell Keast (School of Exercise and Nutrition Science, Burwood); Associate Professor Rob Shellie (School of Exercise and Nutrition Science, Burwood);Dr Damien Callahan (School of Life and Environmental Sciences, Burwood); Associate Professor Xavier Conlan (School of Life and Environmental Sciences, Waurn Ponds); Prof Colin Barrow (School of Life and Environmental Sciences, Waurn Ponds).


Dr Richard Smullen (Ridley AgriProducts); Dr Michael Salini (Ridley AgriProducts); Dr Gustavo Lehnebach (Ridley AgriProducts); Dr Viviana Lazzarotto (Ridley AgriProducts); Dr Simon Tabrett (Ridley AgriProducts); Prof Nick Tomkins (Ridley AgriProducts); Dr Mark Booth (DPI NSW); Dr Brett Ingram (DPI VIC); Prof Rocky De Nys (James Cook University); Mr Roy Palmer (GOHWELL Foundation); Professor Paul Southgate (University of Sunshine Coast); Craig Humphrey (Australian Institute of Marine Science); Dr Heidi Luter (Australian Institute of Marine Science).


Dr Fernando Norambuena (BioMar, Norway); Dr Pedro Borges (BioMar, Norway), Prof Wing Keong Ng (Universiti Sains Malaysia, Malaysia); Prof Xugan Wu (Shanghai Ocean University, China); Dr Jesse Trushenski (Spring Salmon Group, USA) ; Prof Douglas Tocher (University of Stirling, Scotland); Prof Brett Glencross (University of Stirling, Scotland); Dr Oscar Monroig (Spanish National Research Council, Spain); Prof Vittorio Moretti (University of Milan, Italy); Prof Francisco Moyano (University of Almeria, Spain); Prof Chris Parrish (Memorial University Newfoundland); Prof Marina Paolucci (University of Sannio, Italy).