Featured Icon

Scientific advisors and collaborators

NuSea.Lab is proud to host two exceptional, and world renowned, scientific advisors who are constantly and proactively providing support and advice on our activities. Our scientific advisors are:

Prof Andrew J Sinclair

Prof Andrew J Sinclair

Andrew Sinclair is Professor Emeritus in the School of Medicine at Deakin University. He has spent much of his working life as a biochemical nutritionist with a strong interest in food composition, polyunsaturated fatty acids and the role of nutrients in brain development and function. He was awarded the ISSFAL- Alexander Leaf Lifetime Research award in 2014 and the AAOCS award for scientific excellence in lipid research in 2015. He is a Fellow of Nutrition Society of Australia and a Fellow of AIFST.

Prof Sena S De Silva

Prof Sena S De Silva

Sena S De Silva (B.Sc (Hons), PhD, DSc) has worked in the academia in Sri Lanka, UK and Singapore and held a personal chair in Aquaculture & Fisheries Management at Deakin University from 1996 to 2005, when he moved to assume the position of Director General, Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia-Pacific (NACA). Sena has published over 220 original articles in peer reviewed, international journals, 10 edited works and the senior author of three advanced texts related to aquaculture. He has been the principal investigator for many regional projects and consulted for a number of international organisations. Sena has been honoured for his contribution to fishery sciences by the World Aquaculture Society and the Asian Fisheries Society with awards of Honorary Life Membership.


At NuSea.Lab we believe collaboration is essential to successfully tackle current scientific R&D objectives. Accordingly we have developed a substantial and proactive collaborative network, from within Deakin University to the World. We are also constantly engaged and vigorously supportive of short and long term scientific visits. Amongst our recent visits, we have hosted Ms Clara Trullas Huguet (PhD candidate at Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain), Mr Artur Rombenso (PhD candidate at Southern Illinois University, USA), Dr Shiba Giri (visiting academic, Central Institute of Freshwater Aquaculture, Bhubaneswar, India), Dr Sofia Morais (visiting academic, IRTA, Spain), and Prof Francisco J Moyano (visiting acadmic, University of Almeria, Spain). Within our well established network, our closest collaborators are:

(Deakin University): Dr Paul Jones (School of Life and environmental Sciences, Warrnambool); Dr Luis Afonso(School of Life and environmental Sciences, Warrnambool); Prof John Donald (School of Life and environmental Sciences, Waurn Ponds); Mr Bob Collins (Deakin Research); Prof Russell S. J. Keast (School of Exercise and Nutrition, Burwood); Dr. Damien Callahan (School of Life and environmental Sciences, Burwood).

(Australia): Dr Richard Smullen (Ridley AgriProducts); Dr Mark Booth (DPI NSW); Dr Brett Ingram (DPI VIC); Mr Roy Palmer (GOHWELL Foundation); Dr Igor Pirozzi (James Cook University); Dr Guy Carton (James Cook University); Professor Paul Southgate (University of Sunshine Coast); Dr Line Bay (Australian Institute of Marine Science); Dr Sven Uthicke (Australian Institute of Marine Science); Craig Humphrey (Australian Institute of Marine Science); Dr Mike Hall (Australian Institute of Marine Science).

(International): Prof Wing K Ng (Universiti Sains Malaysia); Dr Jesse Trushenski (Idaho Department of Fish and Game) ; Prof Douglas R Tocher (University of Stirling); Prof Vittorio M. Moretti (University of Milan); Dr Hirokazu Matsuda (Mie Prefecture Fisheries Research Centre); Prof Francisco J Moyano (University of Almeria); Prof Marina Paolucci (University of Sannio); Dr Brett Glencross (University of Striling); Prof Tufan Eroldogan (Cukurova University); Dr Fernando Norambuena (BioMar, Chile).